City of Knoxville Council Elections 2013

Next Thursday (June 20, 2013) at NOON is the filing deadline for anyone qualified to run for District 1, 2, 3, 4 or 6 City Council.

Qualified means a registered voter, having resided in the district for one year and return a qualifying petition with 25 signatures from within the district you reside and hope to represent.

All current council members have served one term (four years) and are eligible for one more term. They have all picked up and returned a qualifying petition with the signatures of voters within their district. The current Council members are Vice Mayor Nick Pavlis in District 1, Duane Grieve in District 2, Brenda Palmer in District 3, Nick DellaVolpe in District 4 and Former Mayor Daniel Brown in District 6.

Only two challengers have picked up petitions. Former UT Football player Anthony Hancock picked up a petition for District 2 on March 27, 2013. He has not returned it as of yesterday. On Tuesday (June 11, 2013) Rick Staples picked up a petition for District 4. He has not returned it as of yesterday.

You may also like...